Healthy Living Information, tips and tricks
Latest Stories

Types of Hyperopia

As we mentioned before, hyperopia is classified as three different types according to the severity of the condition, the cause of the farsightedness, its clinical appearance, and the ability of eye muscles to accommodate (compensate for the hyperopic condition). Each type of hyperopia differs in terms of severity, symptoms, and the nature of the treatment required to correct the condition and maintain eye health.

Simple hyperopia
This one is caused by normal biological variance in the shape of the eye and position of the lens. Patients with simple hyperopia do not usually require any treatment apart from the use of corrective glasses or contact lenses.

Pathological hyperopia
This is caused by abnormal eye anatomy—this means the shape of the eye is not within the bounds of normal variance. This type of hyperopia is typically caused by injury to the eye, disease within the eye, or abnormal development of the eye.

Functional hyperopia
This is caused by the inability of the eye to accommodate, meaning that the muscles which focus the eye are paralyzed or otherwise not functioning correctly.

Functional and pathological hyperopia conditions are more likely to require further treatment in addition to the use of corrective lenses. In the case of pathological hyperopia, depending on the exact cause of the condition, further medical treatment or surgery may be required to correct the condition and preserve the health of the eye.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments: 0 Comments

Leave a Reply © 2016. All Rights Reserved.