Healthy Living Information, tips and tricks
Latest Stories

Type of Lung Cancer

Lung cancer is a disease that consists of uncontrolled cell growth in tissues of the lung. Here are the classification of lung cancer.

a. Small Cell Lung Cancer (SCLC)
About 12 out of every 100 lung cancers diagnosed are this type. Small cell lung cancer is called this because the cancer cells are small cells that are mostly filled with the nucleus (the control centre of cells). It is also called oat cell cancer. This type of cancer is usually caused by smoking. It is very rare for someone who has never smoked to develop it.

b. Non Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
There are three common types of non small cell lung cancer. These are grouped together because they behave in a similar way and respond to treatment in a different way to small cell lung cancer. Here are the types of lung cancer:
1. Squamous cell carcinoma (also called epidermoid carcinoma)
This is the most common type of NSCLC. It forms in the lining of the bronchial tubes and is the most common type of lung cancer in men.

2. Adenocarcinoma
This cancer is found in the glands of the lungs that produce mucus. This is the most common type of lung cancer in women and also among people who have not smoked.

3. Bronchioalveolar carcinoma
This is a rare subset of adenocarcinoma. It forms near the lungs’ air sacs. Recent clinical research has shown that this type of cancer responds more effectively to the newer targeted therapies.

4. Large-cell undifferentiated carcinoma
This cancer forms near the surface, or outer edges, of the lungs. It can grow rapidly.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments: 0 Comments

Leave a Reply © 2016. All Rights Reserved.